DENVER (September 13, 2021) — A Public Utilities Commission (PUC) administrative law judge will conduct two remote public comment hearings for two separate proceedings regarding proposed cost recovery approaches for Black Hills Energy gas (21A-0196G) and electric (21A-0197E) operations. Both proceedings concern Black Hills Energy’s recovery approach for addressing costs incurred during Winter Storm Uri.
On Tuesday, September 21 the PUC will take comment on the company’s proposed recovery schedule for costs incurred to provide electric services to customers (21A-0197E). The public comment hearing will begin at 4:30 p.m. and last until concluded, but no later than 6:30 p.m. Individuals who wish to provide public comments during the hearing may do so either by telephone or computer. Detailed instructions on how to participate by phone or computer can be found in the decision setting the public comment hearing, Attachment A.
Black Hills Electric is seeking recovery of $23.1 million over two years. This would mean average residential bills would increase by $3.83 per month for 24 months.
On Wednesday, September 22 the PUC will take comment on Black Hills Energy’s proposed cost recovery approach for costs incurred during the February 2021 extreme weather event for gas operations (21A-0196G). The public comment hearing will begin at 4:30 p.m. and last until concluded, but no later than 6:30 p.m. Individuals who wish to provide public comments during the hearing may do so either by telephone or computer. Detailed instructions on how to participate by phone or computer can be found in the decision setting the public comment hearing, Attachment A.
Black Hills Gas proposes to recover $72.7 million proportionally across its rate areas. Black Hills Gas requests a three-year recovery period for its Central and North/Southwest rate areas and a one-year recovery period for its Western Slope rate areas. The average monthly residential bill increase during this time would be $8.05 per month in Central Rate Area 2, $11.73 per month in Central Rate Area 3, $15.48 per month in North/Southwest Rate Area 1, and $10.62 per month in North/Southwest Rate Area 2. For the Western Slope Rate Area, the average residential bill would increase by $12.46 per month.
Members of the public also may submit written comments about the proposal by using the PUC’s online comment form at https://puc.colorado.gov/puccomments under the appropriate proceeding.
The PUC administrative law judge has scheduled evidentiary hearings for proceeding 21A-0197E on November 29-30, 2021, and hearings for proceeding 21A-0196G from December 1-3, 2021.
The Colorado Public Utilities Commission (PUC) serves the public interest by effectively regulating utilities and facilities so that the people of Colorado receive safe, reliable, and reasonably-priced services consistent with the economic, environmental and social values of our state.
The Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) is dedicated to preserving the integrity of the marketplace and is committed to promoting a fair and competitive business environment in Colorado. Consumer protection is our mission. Visit www.dora.colorado.gov for more information or call 303-894-7855/toll free 1-800-886-7675.